Skip to content

Revisiting the Return

Afterthoughts on my trip to Asia

I don’t think this trip would’ve been complete without being fed A LOT. Everyone we met either took us out to lunch, cooked for us or at least bought for us with some exotic only-in-the-Philippines delicacy.

While access to Filipino foods and recipes has been easy with globalization and exportation to Asian stores in New England, there were definitely favorite food items that could only be found in the Philippines. I remember, for instance, being so excited about finally eating my first ever cheese ice cream in ten years (and posting about it in my old, now-abandoned blog)

This was the same picture I had uploaded in my blog 2 years ago. To this day, I'm still celebrating finally having cheese ice cream that one glorious day!

This was the same picture I had uploaded in my blog 2 years ago. To this day, I’m still celebrating finally having cheese ice cream that one glorious day!

Though cheese ice cream is, indeed, a unique experience, it pales in comparison to my favorite ice cream flavor: mango.

Two other ice cream flavor favorites in the Philippines: Mango and Ube (purple yam)

Two other ice cream flavor favorites in the Philippines: Mango and Ube (purple yam)

Unsurprisingly, much of the eating happened inside malls (which, in addition to thousands of stores, also have a good selection of dining places). The ice creams above all came from mall stands. I also vaguely remember sitting one day in a mall food court for an hour and getting a sampling of almost every food there was.

Dumplings are a favorite midday food in the Philippines

Dumplings are a favorite midday food in the Philippines

I wish I took more pictures of the food because I’m realizing now that these three pictures are not at all representative of the mounds of food I ate that month. No regrets though; I’m sure I didn’t take pictures because I was so busy eating!

Tags: , , , , , ,

